Emergency med chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.Narcos

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good morning everyone,

Just wanted to get peoples opinions on my situation. Im a 3rd year medical student who got a 207 on my first attempt for STEP 1 and a 470 on COMLEX. Ive always been interested in EM but now I feel like my chances of matching are slim to none. I am a US DO student. I have a fair amount of research and conference presentations as well as 2 publications. I wanted to see what my chances are for matching into EM. Should I give it up? My back up would be primary care such as Internal or family? any advice- other then killing step 2? I also am a founder of a nonprofit organization. Volunteered in a ER for 3 years

Any hope is appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

You'll be fine for EM. Apps decreased by like 10% this year, and I imagine it will only continue to go down due to the current oversaturated market and scarcity of jobs. If I were you, I'd look into another specialty while you still can.
20211015_172807.jpg

Reactions: 2 users
Although the job market concerns are true, I'll try to answer you taking that out of the equation

For EM, the thing that matters most are your LOR. With two top 1/3 SLOEs, that 207 doesnt matter except if it gets you beyond any programs that have a cutoff. I had a friend this cycle applying with a 210 first attempt and hes gotten numerous interviews. Based on his personality though, I bet you he had good SLOEs. So to answer your question, no, your chances are not none based on your step 1 score. Whether you should give it up or not is on you based on job outlook and what not. I'm applying EM myself and people call me dumb every single day. I plan on doing fellowship so I stuck with it. Best of luck, reach out with any questions

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)