EM/Psych Combined Training

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

americanturkey

Reaction score
I am a student interested in emergency psychiatry. I believe I will need training in both specialties to accomplish my career goals.

There do no appear to be any combined programs but I do not understand why as there is a clear need and existing career path. Many hospitals have even built entire psych units in the ED to fill the need. A dual trained person could act as a sort of one physician emergency psych service. At this point I am considering actually doing both residencies (either a 3 year of each or with some credit towards the intern year of the second).

Why does this not exist? How could a student approach petitioning the powers that be to pursue this training in a 5-6 year period?

(if there is a better location for this thread please let me know)

Members don't see this ad.

I am a student interested in emergency psychiatry. I believe I will need training in both specialties to accomplish my career goals.

There do no appear to be any combined programs but I do not understand why as there is a clear need and existing career path. Many hospitals have even built entire psych units in the ED to fill the need. A dual trained person could act as a sort of one physician emergency psych service. At this point I am considering actually doing both residencies (either a 3 year of each or with some credit towards the intern year of the second).

Why does this not exist? How could a student approach petitioning the powers that be to pursue this training in a 5-6 year period?

(if there is a better location for this thread please let me know)