Ec, volunteer, research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Flamingo123

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a junior premed.
-I did not take the MCATs yet
- over 100 hours as a volunteer in a hospital (using skills such as listening, companionship, interaction with medical staff)
- volunteering at a crisis text line (using skills such as listening, problem solving,collaborating)
- 10 hours shadowing doctor
I will be doing research next year. I have no experiences that qualify as leadership skills. What should I do to give me an edge in the application process?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
When do you plan to apply? When are you taking the MCAT? As the poster above said, keep working on your ECs. You need about 50 hours of shadowing. The rest of your RCs could use some work too , or better explanations from your descriptions.

I will be applying in 2 years.
Any other suggestions besides for tutoring/teaching?

Members don't see this ad :)