eating disorders and weigh ins

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alexsupertramp

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am curious if there is any research that backs daily weigh ins for outpatient clients with ED. I no longer have access to the large databases as when I was a student and was wanting some opinions or thoughts on this subject. My thought is that at times, daily weigh ins could be troubling for the client. While I do realize that checking the person's weight is vital, I don't know if doing it daily would be necessary unless in an inpatient setting. Anyone of any experience in this?

Members don't see this ad.

just as an opinion, haven't done much eating disorder research (a bit in undergrad), I would think it would be detrimental. What I know, anecdotally, is that it is common to be weighed weekly in inpatient setting. Daily weights fluctuate and I would think it would be distressing to the client to see their weight everyday, especially if it is increasing.

From my knowledge of personal fitness, daily weighing is a bad system. Your weight fluctuates during the day and day-by-day measurements are almost meaningless and can be VERY disheartening for people. I wouldn't weight myself for any purpose more than once a week.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am curious if there is any research that backs daily weigh ins for outpatient clients with ED. I no longer have access to the large databases as when I was a student and was wanting some opinions or thoughts on this subject. My thought is that at times, daily weigh ins could be troubling for the client. While I do realize that checking the person's weight is vital, I don't know if doing it daily would be necessary unless in an inpatient setting. Anyone of any experience in this?