Dying To Be A Derm

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrDivaLenz

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Kids:

Alright, Here is the lowdown. I have been dreaming and working for a dermatology career for about 5 years now. I am a 3rd year medical student and before medical school worked for a NYC derm for 2 years.

I worked my butt off in med school and unfortunately wound up a High Pass student with only 60 points above the national mean on the Comlex (DO) boards and a :( 200 on the USLME step one.

I have 5 publications, a summer bench project, a poster presentation, as well as the 2 years work experience. I have great letters of rec from reputable staff at NYU.

Can i achieve my lifetime goal if I do more research or keep persistently working at contacts? Am i completely out of teh game because of my step one scores or can I work some majic with my program director friends ?

I WNAT THIS BAD BC ITS THE ONLY THING I ENJOY. :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

You best become friends with cindy hoffman, DO. And, no; don't think about allopathic programs. Go to AOCD.org and go to all the meetings, etc...

This will be difficult for you. I know of a former student who so badly wanted to be a derm that she tried to make a residency position for herself at a local program(D.O.) after she did not get into the program of her choice. Do not try that route. All it does is engender a lot of bad feelings in not only programs that might consider you but also in your future colleagues.
You certainly have a good background and a lot of stellar recommendations. I would do as many rotations in D.O. Dermatology programs as you can. Do not restrict yourself to one area of the country. Make yourself known to the Osteopathic college of Dermatology ( AOCD.org), go to thier functions at the AOA convention and network, ALOT.