During Professional School: To Buy or Rent (Advice, Please!)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

organichemistry

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
(I am actually a pre-dental student, but the financial situation is incredibly similar to m.d. students so I'm hoping to get some input from you guys).

First of all, let me say that I'm a second year undergrad so I've got some time to figure this out. Nevertheless, I figure it is important to start thinking about how I am going to live and manage my debt.

I've worked from 8th grade and all through high school saving a vast majority of the money I made for my education. I work sparingly these days, however.

In any event, I figure to complete undergraduate school with about $25,000 in the bank, post-application process.

I'm curious as to how I should use this money. I plan on attending my state school which is the University of Alabama -- which is about as cheap as they come. It amounts to something like $60,000 over 4 years. I figure with hidden costs here and there I can predict worst case of $70,000. This does not include living expenses... namely rent and food. My car situation is fine through dental school.

My question really is this: Would it be wise to buy a house right out of undergrad? Like I said, I plan on attending my state school in Birmingham (also my home town, and the place I would like to end up practicing).

I could buy a pretty new home 20-25 minutes away for something like $130,000. So I could just use my $25,000 as a down payment on the home and pay a $500-$600 monthly mortgage (if it was a 30 year). Then I would be looking at taking out loans for dental school ~$70,000 over 4 years and living expenses (food, gas, mortage payments, miscellaneous expenses) ~$50,000 over 4 years.