Dual Fellowship (Stroke+Epilepsy) for Canadian migration

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TNKay

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am a second year neurology resident in the US who wants to migrate to Canada eventually. I just wanted to run something by this group as I have always gotten great advice from people here, something I am very grateful for.
My program gives me a good exposure to stroke but the only reason I intend to do stroke on the top of epilepsy is to transition into Canadian health system and I wouldn't want to do 2 years of epilepsy fellowship (from what I have gathered it can easily take 2 years to be able to transition well into their system, or get an academic job, etc etc).
Is this a good idea? and I thought I might as well practice both stroke and epilepsy for a few years and then transition to epilepsy only (eventually) for an easier lifestyle.
Any and every thought is welcome. Appreciate everyone's help. thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

As I understand, you just need 1 year of ACGME-approved year to satisfy the equivalent training year (5 years in Canada versus 4 years in US). If you feel adequately trained in stroke (which you will definitely in most residencies), you should not do 1 year stroke but just focus on epilepsy if this is what you imagine your eventual practice would be.

As I understand, you just need 1 year of ACGME-approved year to satisfy the equivalent training year (5 years in Canada versus 4 years in US). If you feel adequately trained in stroke (which you will definitely in most residencies), you should not do 1 year stroke but just focus on epilepsy if this is what you imagine your eventual practice would be.