Drexel Students-Getting to Center City from East Falls

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RaaMD

Caffeine Addict
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a newly accepted student at Drexel and am looking forward to going there. I was wondering if it would be possible to bike from East Falls from Center City. I was also wondering if you recommend getting a place close by the school or one perhaps more distant. I've looked around at places and am trying to learn more about the area. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

When I went on my Drexel interview, the distance from city center (independence hall area) to East Falls was a 30min train ride... So i seriously doubt biking is an option.

hey. biking from center city to east falls takes about 20 minutes. by the river is really pleasant to ride, but there's a killer hill to get up to the med school. when i was there (last year), drexel had a free hourly shuttle going from the hahnemann campus in cc to east falls. it took about 30 minutes or so.
i lived in the carlton park apartments across from the med school. the management was very nice. i would, however, suggest getting a second floor aparment, as burglaries can happen (my downstairs neighbor got robbed a few times). The area around the med school, like most of philly, is weird in that there are pockets of really nice and more pockets of not-so-nice. Lots of folks lived in Roxboro, which is one or two septa stops up the line. Chestnut hill is further away, and probably much higher rent wise but a very nice neighborhood. Mt Airy is quite diverse and also a nice place. Manyunk is where the cool and trendy kids live. Can i use the word nice one more time? thanks.

i'll stop for now, but if you want more info let me know.

Members don't see this ad :)