DPT working with sports?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kingroger317

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi i am a current undergrad at UCLA. I plan to go to DPT school afterwards. I was wondering what kind of opporunities to work with sports teams there were as a DPT. I would like to work for professional/collegiate teams etc, kind of like ATC's. But i don't know if there is any positions like that for DPT's. Also what are competitive GPAs for DPT school? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

A lot of professional teams hire physical therapists usually who posses an athletic training degree as well to sit on the bench...I know the NY METS do this...He sits right along with the other trainer...The physical therapy practice which I volunteer at does a lot of the physical therapy for the athelets at the college I go to. One of the therapists travel with some of the teams once in a while.

We just had a lecture about this in class. The speakers we had were Ph.D/ ATC and one was a PT/ATC. It is better to have a ATC degree for working with athletes b/c ATC work more closely with them. Physical therapists work more closely with patients of all ages and disabilities. If you want to focus on just athletes i would recommend you get an ATC degree although it was alot of work and the pay is not as good as a PT. The PT/ATC said she made better money as a PT, but feels once her children have gone back to college she would like to return back to ATC. As for GPA it depends on the school. I'm going to UB and was accepted with a 3.8 avg but my friend got in with a 2.9. However, no one in my class is from another school this is because they only usually accept students who were undergrads from UB. Hope this helps

Members don't see this ad :)