DPT school with 1 year old

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Csn2024

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated last year and was planning to start PT school this year. Plans changed when I found out I was pregnant and now have a 2 month old girl! Applications for next year are due soon and I'm not sure what to do about it. The program wouldn't start until next summer or fall, so she would be a year old. St. Augustine also has the Flex program, so I can do a lot online and my husband can watch her on weekends when I have labs. I know it will still be a lot of work, and it makes me sad thinking about missing a lot of her first few years. I really do want to pursue my career though, as well. It's a goal that I don't want to give up. I don't know if it would be better to wait though, but then my Bachelor's will be a little outdated. I don't know if I would have to retake prereqs at that point. The final thing I'm thinking about is the fact that we will probably want to have another baby before I graduate, since I'm 25 right now.

Members don't see this ad.

Well i'm not sure that sounds pretty intense. there are two fathers in my class with young children. They do well, but they complain when their baby won't sleep the night before an exam.