DPT/PhD vs. MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wacokid

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm currently an undergrad senior, and I'm trying to decide whether to do PT/PhD or try for MD/PhD. My GPA is pretty crappy and I don't have the prereqs for MD/PhD, so I would take a year of post-bac pre med before applying to that. Mostly, though, I'm trying to figure out if it's worth it. I want to do some clinical work, but mostly do research on neurological disorders that involve movement. PT school is quite expensive, and many MD/PhD programs are fully funded. Not only that, but PT salaries are much lower (lower than what they should be, I think). However, a full MD/PhD can take up to 13 years including postdoc and fellowships, and I'd have to take the xtra year for the classes. AND I many not get in. PT school, on the other hand, I can cram the prereqs in next year, though it will be quite difficult. Does anyone know what the salary differences are for DPT/PhD s vs. MD/PhDs, and whether it's possible to get into an MD/PhD program with a 3.3 undergrad GPA, but a very strong GPA in courses taken post-bac and good MCATS?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Pretty much no chance of getting into a MD/PhD program with a 3.3...

I know of a guy that got his PhD at Duke, then applied to the MD program when he was done. He now has his MD, PhD...but didnt do the MD/PhD program. Something to think about I guess. Definitely takes a while. O and then he went to Harvard gen surgery, then Harvard plastic surgery.

If you want to be a physician I dont see why you should become a physical therapist no matter how long it takes.