Dpt & Pa-c

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPTnotMD

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently in my second year of Physical Therapy School. I will graduate May 09. I was seriously thinking about getting my Physician Assisstant Certification once I finish.

I really want to open up my own clinic one day and believe this will benefit me and my patients more. It will take 2 additional years of school, but I was going back to get my MBA anyway. I just will get this instead!

Please tell me what you think about this?!?

Members don't see this ad.

as a p.a. you would still need a supervising md of record. supervision requirements vary by state. some require md presence X # of hrs/week, others require review of a certain % of charts every month. some (like n. carolina) only require a discussion with an md every 6 mo to discuss the practice.
links for more pa info:
www.aapa.org
www.physicianassistant.net

If I want to really practice direct access, do you guys think this will be expand my knowledge as a clinician. Especially since they follow the medical model. Would this benefit the working relationship with PTs and physicians as well.

Members don't see this ad :)
If I want to really practice direct access, do you guys think this will be expand my knowledge as a clinician. Especially since they follow the medical model. Would this benefit the working relationship with PTs and physicians as well.