DPM options without residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bunny25

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a third year pod student. After going through all of the didactic classwork and beginning hospital rotations, I'm having second thoughts about practicing podiatry. I think I may have gone into the profession for the wrong reasons and have stayed in school because of my stubborn nature/loans/hoping I would like things better with time. What options would I have with a DPM if I do not complete residency? I think pharmaceutical/medical device sales may be an option. Does anyone know a person who has been in this situation? Any advice? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

At this point in the history of the profession I would say your chances of practicing podiatry without a residency would be slim to none. In my podiatry school class there was another student who decided that podiatry was not for him. He completed his schooling and then reapplied and became a DO.

I saw a movie yesterday in which one of the characters asked, "When backed into a corner and there is no way out what should you do?" The response was, "go in deeper." Have you considered getting an M.D. or D.O. degree?

What makes Podiatry different from any other medical specialty though? and just out of curiousity why do you believe that podiatry is not for you? Is getting an MD or DO going to help? You'll probably wind up with more loans and a loss of time.

Members don't see this ad :)
practice in a state that does not require one