Don't know if I should apply? Advice pls.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bzinl

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I'm new here. And I'm having a quarter life crisis. I'm pouring my heart out here so no judging.

I've always said I wanted to be a doctor for as long as I remember. That's it. There is no story. No one near me has ever been hospitalized and neither have I. No one really close to me has died. I just decided one day. I know I was the one who pursued it first but as I get closer to actually applying, I'm starting to have a lot of doubts.

I am a black hispanic female who is a senior in college with a projected 3.17 gpa and a 24 MCAT(taken once with no desire to retake and slight upward trend on gpa) and I live in NY so I don't think the instate advantage is going to help. I have lots of hospital experience and some minor non-clinical research experience. I don't think I'll get into med school if I apply. My parents and pre-med friends insist that this is enough and not to give up, but I'm not so sure.

Originally my plan was to apply just once and if I got rejected go for my MHA(masters health admin). But I'm not really a people person and I know my stats aren't competitive plus a year is a long time and a lot of money. I'm afraid to get rejected after all that. I've also been hearing that being a doctor isn't all its cracked up to be these days. A doctor friend of mine actually told me not to go to medical school(not cause of my stats she doesnt know about them). I'm not the kind of person to apply 3-4 times or leave the country to get my MD. Should I even bother applying. Now I'm thinking of just taking the year to study for GRE and work and apply MHA.