BOTH Doing poorly in classes to prepare for boards?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kurite

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am planning on starting to study essentially at the very beginning of second year for the USMLE + COMLEX. I am looking at Derm so I need to do well (to say the least). Is it a bad idea to do somewhat poorly in class in order to prepare for boards for the entire year?
Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I dont believe they do, at least they don't for first year. I was thinking of using First Aid + picmonics as well as a question bank or two. Even with this setup do you think its a bad idea to not do very well in classes?

Last edited:
Well, I'm no expert, but it seems to me that a lot of the people with the really high scores attribute a big part of their success to being on top of their classes. Remember, FA is a review book meant to reinforce concepts you'll learn in class. If you learn well for class the first time (and add in a dedicated study time); I think you can crush the boards and classes. Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I think not using class to your advantage would not be helpful. It could be helpful however to use things like FA, firecracker, etc. as outlines to prioritize topics and ideas. I.e these can help you pick out excessive nuance that you are being tested in for classes vs core concept you need down for boards. For my own study for example I would listen to lectures, study those sections in FA/firecracker for a chunk of time and reinforce those concepts with lecture and then a day or two before the test go back through lectures cram details that are obviously not board material but are needed for the test. I haven't taken step yet though so take that with a grain of salt of course but it is working well for classes. Good luck! :)

Last edited: