Does anyone find taking notes on their review books helpful--or waste of time?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tofurkey

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am in a Kaplan class, and I started out taking good notes on the review books. The reason I did that is because that's the way I studied for all my science classes (even physics) and I did well. I thought, why change my study habits now.

However, all this note taking is taking forever (i.e. 3 hours per Kaplan chapter) and I'm wondering is it really worth it--or could I retain just as much with no notes or less notes? Alternatively, maybe I could start focusing more on the flash cards they provide and take way fewer notes.

Any advice on this topic?

Thanks,

T

Members don't see this ad.

Heya,

Whenever I'm in class, I often have the same problem... the amount of time lost in making those 'awesome' review notes is bewilderingly immense.

I've found that the best thing to do is to kind of 'trust my instincts'... if its something that I know I know... or that I can reason through fairly easily... then I don't write it down... It's only when I encounter something that makes me go "Oh!" or that I know I'll forget within a day or two that I take the time to write it down... this cuts down on review time by a lot yet still allows you to take note on those things that you feel that you have a weakness in.

Hope this helps :)

ChyLn

I recopied the entire examkrackers set. It took months, (143pages total were copied out in color) and when i came down to taking the test, I didn't know the stuff because I didn'thave time to read through and learn the material.