Do you do much as an addiction psychiatrist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ExcaliburPrime1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I write this not to be disparaging, but just because I am a clueless intern with little experience.

A little background: One of our rotations as interns (probably the best, in terms of hours certainly, but also cool attendings) is at the VA substance abuse program. It's basically an intensive outpatient program that meets within the hospital. Anyway, besides prescribing some naltrexone or methadone, I didn't really see us doing much. I mean, sure, we'll talk to the patients and see them every few weeks, and I got to know my people pretty well, but it seemed like the heavy lifting was done by the patient and the rest of the program (going to the daily groups).

Maybe I'm missing something?

Anyway, it was a great experience and I am now seriously considering addiction psychiatry, particularly for opiate use disorder patients.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
I work at the VA and I spend 1/3 of my time treating patients in the IOP program. I was sort of volunteered for it at first, and like many psychiatrists I did not want to get a Suboxone waiver or treat substance abuse much. But I have found in many ways it is a little easier than the rest of my practice here, and a nice change of pace.

It is satisfying to prescribe buprenorphine/naloxone and not at all difficult, and these patients recover very well.

Alcohol Use Disorder is the most challenging among the patients we treat for substance abuse. For a variety of reasons these patients are less adherent to their treatment plans.