DO student looking at surgical subspecialties, can someone give some insight?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonymouskoala28

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a DO student. I recently did a masters that is basically 2/3 of first year medical school and am starting into MS1 so I will have some "spare" time and I need to know what I should be working on. I know I still have a LONG time to go but I'm interested in some surgical subspecialties including neurosurgery and the integrated cardiothoracic surgery programs. I knew that these programs were extremely competitive as is but now I'm extremely concerned due to the fact they are NOT DO friendly. I've done my research and out of over 100 neurosurgery programs only 21 programs have a DO resident (usually only 1 out of the 6-12 spots considering they only take 1-2 residents per year). These are also including AOA programs that have made the merger like Carilion where their entire program is DOs. I believe only 3 or 4 made the merger. In the integrated cardiothoracic programs, I only found 3 programs that had a DO resident. I also know you can take the independent pathway of general surgery + 2-3 years cardiothoracic surgery fellowship but clearly the integrated pathway is a lot more appealing due to less years clearly. I'm a great student, however I'm concerned since my year will be the year step 1 goes pass/fail. I'm good at networking and very extroverted so I'm not worried about being likable, I'm worried about not having the other key parts of the application.