DO internship + MD residency -how to do eras?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shortbread9

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a fourth year DO student applying to allopathic em programs. there are some that are 2-4yr and i need to find an internship/transitional year. I was wondering if i wanted to do an osteopathic internship +allopthic residency how do i submit that on eras? since the do match is before the md how would my internship and resideny link up? does anyone have any insight? please let me know.

Members don't see this ad.

shortbread9 said:
I am a fourth year DO student applying to allopathic em programs. there are some that are 2-4yr and i need to find an internship/transitional year. I was wondering if i wanted to do an osteopathic internship +allopthic residency how do i submit that on eras? since the do match is before the md how would my internship and resideny link up? does anyone have any insight? please let me know.

I'd be interested in hearing this as well, because as far as I've seen, you can't substitute your DO transitional year for the first year of an MD/allopathic residency. We have had several interns who had done a rotating internship but then came to our program (my former residency) but had to repeat the internship. This was a surgical residency though.

Is it possible to do this? Have you heard otherwise? Or does it differ for EM (ie, their board will allow this practice). Just wondering so I know for future reference.

Kimberli Cox said:
I'd be interested in hearing this as well, because as far as I've seen, you can't substitute your DO transitional year for the first year of an MD/allopathic residency. We have had several interns who had done a rotating internship but then came to our program (my former residency) but had to repeat the internship. This was a surgical residency though.