Do I still have a chance at PT school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ajames08

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated Spring 2016 with a degree in Biology. I applied for PT schools after that and didnt get accepted anywhere. one of the places I applied to was TWU(Texas Women's University) which was my top choice and still is. After receiving my rejection letter I asked her "what could I do to make myself look better for the next time that I apply?" She said that my last 60 hrs was just at the minimum (3.02) and she said my pre-req was good (3.7) but she said my GRE was low (which I was aware of but I still wanted to give it a shot) She informed me that getting into a master's program would raise my last 60 hrs GPA(which I don't really want to do) and she also suggested that I apply to PTA school,become a PTA and then later on do the bridge program to become a PT. Since then,since I didn't really want to do the whole grad program thing,I started looking into PTA. There is a program that is in my area that I plan to apply to but lately I've been thinking and I really want to give PT another shot. I was thinking of studying for the GRE for the next few months and taking the test in maybe June, mid July or early August and reapplying to PT school again. I feel like the GRE was the thing that hurt me most when it came to my application. I never studied for the GRE the first or second time I took it which is probably the reason I had such a low score. I have heard of people scoring really well on the GRE but having a lower GPA (3.0-3.5 range) and they still got into PT school. My ultimate goal is to be a Physical Therapist and I feel like going into PTA and then going to PT would take a longgggggg time. If I retake the GRE and get a good score do you think that would be enough for me to get into PT school this second time?

Members don't see this ad.