Do I qualify and advice...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Focus30

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings!

This is my first time visiting the URM forum and am surprised at some of the things I've read with regards to URM... and wonder if I qualify?

Both my parents and all 4 grandparents were born and raised in Rio De Janeiro, BR. I was raised there from 3-13 years of age and Portuguese is my first language. I later learned Spanish and eventually English when I returned to NY. However, I was still born here in the US and wonder if that makes a difference on whether I qualify as a URM? If so, would it be under "hispanic?" (I ask because Brazilians don't consider themselves hispanic.) Also, is there anything different I need to do while applying or is it just check [x] some sort of URM box on the application? Is it true that the "grading standards" for URM are different than those of a "non-URM" applicant? I apologize in advance for all the questions and my visible ignorance...

Some notes:
-30 years old (just wife)
-6 years of USMC
-3.2 UG
-3.4 Sc
-Returned to school and aced just about every course I sat in.
-Ran out of Pre-req's to take so I'm thinking of doing a SMP this Spring. (UMDNJ-Stratford)
-Will likely apply for DO as I don't think I have the numbers for MD schools.
-Pending MCAT's
-Will consider Off shore if I have limited hope.

It seems people are quick to share information here, so I will greatly appreciate any that will feed my hopes and/or guide my energy.

:)

Members don't see this ad.

Greetings!

This is my first time visiting the URM forum and am surprised at some of the things I've read with regards to URM... and wonder if I qualify?