Medical Do I have a shot at getting into ANY top tier MD program?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I would like to get you guy's thoughts on how to approach my application this cycle.

Background
I'm a 25 year old, URM, and an international student. I graduated from a University on the east coast with a cGPA of 3.77 and sGPA of 3.82. Currently on my second gap year doing research at a top research institution.

MCAT
I took the MCAT last year and scored a 505. I was mad that I didn't do well, so I registered for a retake the next month and did worse, 499. I had submitted my applications by then and so I was devastated and I guess not surprisingly, didn't get any interview last cycle. So I started studying again this January for an April retake before COVID happened. I eventually took it on 6/28. I was averaging 512 on my FLs, but unfortunately the day before my exam, I received news that my uncle that I had a very close relationship with had died from COVID. I tried my best to keep my head up but I bombed my exam and got a 504.

Research
I've done an extensive amount of both basic science and clinical research. I have 12 publications so far in Q1/high impact journals (4 first-author). Only two of those pubs are clinical research.

I also have a compelling personal statement, many decent extracurriculars such as co-founder of a nonprofit, many hours of clinical experience (from clinical research, shadowing, internships), awards, etc. I really felt like the only missing piece to my application was the MCAT, and after studying so hard for so long and not being able to crush it, I feel so devastated and don't know what to do next. Being an international applicant limits my choices to schools I can apply to, and these choices tend to be mostly top tier, unfortunately.