This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xalacm

Reaction score
Basically I went in to undergrad with unrealistic expectations of my study skills and time management (made As easy in high school). I had a lot of clinical experience in high school and decided I wanted to be a doctor. I went into undergrad pre med and took gen chem 1st semester (C) and cell biology (B). I took chem 2 second semester and dropped it with a W after it was apparent I would probably get another C.
Unfortunately, I was still in denial about my study skills (it couldn't possibly be me! the classes are just hard :angelic:) so I continued to take biology courses genetics (D), microbiology (C), A&P 1 and 2 (C). I changed my major but I was a steady B student with a few As. Graduated with an uGPA of 2.89. By the grace of god I was accepted into 1 graduate program in epidemiology, my new field of interest. After being rejected by several grad schools and seeing how well my peers were able to do in undergrad, I really stepped back and reevaluated the amount of effort I put in to my school work. The time for making As on minimal effort was over and it took me 4 years of failing spectacularly to realize it and it is my biggest regret.