Do I have a chance in Texas?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Manny Q's

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first generation college student from a low-income family who lives in south TX. I started off my first semester not even knowing basic chemistry due to my high school's lack of decent teachers... I've struggled a lot to adapt to college not only academically, but mentally. Ive also struggled with panic-attack disorder for years which has caused me trips to the ER and loss of focus in school. There has been an upward trend in my grades and activities however. My c.GPA is a 3.21 and scienceGPA 3.0. I have done research in biochemistry since my first semester of college, EMT with patient-care experience (180 hours of training in ER/lecture), leadership positions for 3 orgs, involved in a fraternity for 2 years, HS and college student mentor, I have done some doctor shadowing for a local clinic, volunteered to teach science lectures for elementary-middle school, and have organized two global outreach projects.
How are my chances of getting in looking? I plan on taking my MCAT in the summer but I'm not a very good test-taker.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would suggest posting in the what are my chances forum in the pre-med section. But right now it is hard to gauge your chances without an MCAT score. I would also start considering a post-bac or SMP. However, taking your time to study for the MCAT and master the basics would help with any further coursework you might have to take. Also, being a South Texas native will definitely help you for UTRGV's medical school but applying comes after the McAT/GPA repair. Good Luck!

Members don't see this ad :)