Do I belong here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

saladsandsutures

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need to extend this out to you guys because I truly don't know what to do or think. I was an average med student grade-wise but did very well during my clerkships due to good interpersonal skills/bedside manner/IM bread an butter cases. I though I would get into an ok place for residency and surprisingly matched into a very good program. I started internal med residency this July.

Idk if it's because the patients are a lot more complex at this program, if I forgot everything from med school, or just don't have a good foundation but I feel like my medical knowledge is completely insufficient. I feel like I know nothing, as if I never went to med school. What if I just memorized things and understood important concepts on the surface and somehow was able to get this far that way? I cannot fathom knowing as much as my seniors by the end of this year and I do not believe I am on the same level as most of my co-interns. To clarify, I have not gotten any negative feedback thus far but this is with seniors holding my hand a lot of the way and explaining things to me. I have gotten good evals thus far and have made some progress but I am terrified that I will be found out. A large component of this could be imposture syndrome but I feel the desperate need to study and revisit some foundational concepts. Is that still possible to do in intern year because I feel like it is too late at this point.