DO degree and opportunities in Canada

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cheruka

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a 4th yr DO student. I am trying to decide if I should participate in the AOA (DO) match or not. The question I have is- if I opt for a MD residency and take ABFM (fam med boards on the MD side), will I be able to work in Canada? What about a DO residency and ABOFM? I am trying to do Family medicine.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Do NOT enter the AOA match! Canada doesn't recognize AOA training. Plus, AOA programs don't offer or know how to manage J1 or H1B visas. Only enter the ACGME match!

Thanks for the response. I am a US citizen, so no worries about visas. I do want to have the option to practice in Canada open (there are areas where I would love to live and practice at least for some years). Some of the dual residencies allow you to board sertify in both AOA and ACGME. I am assuming that would probably work too. Does anyone know any downside of being dually board certified?

Members don't see this ad :)
As long as the residency has ACGME accreditation you should be good to go. Given that you're applying to a less competitive specialty, you should have absolutely no trouble getting a spot in an ACGME program.

In Canada DO's are considered IMG's.
In order to obtain a Canadian medical licence you not only have to take the USMLE but you need to obtain the Canadian LMCC by taking the MCCEE, MCC1 and MCC2.
Then after that you need to be a Canadian citizen.
Look at cpsbc.ca for the details.

Hey Monterey

If you don't mind my asking, where did you complete your residency? Were you pleased with the program (in general)?

Sweet! That must have been great.

In Canada DO's are considered IMG's.
In order to obtain a Canadian medical licence you not only have to take the USMLE but you need to obtain the Canadian LMCC by taking the MCCEE, MCC1 and MCC2.