DIY post-bacc with no advisor, should I pay for a comprehensive service?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

boogiechilling

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my third time posting, so I'm sorry for that, but I'm a deeply confused non-trad doing a DIY post-bac. I have no access to advising services and am overwhelmed by the application process. I'm considering hiring an advising service, but have seen on these forums that its not usually recommended so thought i'd try here first before I pay someone. These are my stats and current situation:

cGPA: 2.58
Post-Bac GPA: 3.75
AMCAS science GPA: 3.19
AACOMAS science GPA: 3.51
I have four 2 credit graduate classes thrown into this mix as well at a 3.47 and I got a 3.0 in my 9 credit accelerated W-EMT course this fall (not factored into my post-bac gpa.)
I'm a licensed EMT and have been volunteering at the COVID vaccine clinic in my area (~50 hours so far), I have non clinical volunteer work (~70 hours) with HIV patients, and volunteer work with children (~700 hours) that was non clinical and education focused.

My undergrad degree was a BA in photography. I have two C's in science in math from my undergrad and one from a community college that are tanking my sGPA, but am on track to pull it up by summer. If I took only the necessary credits for the rest of my post-bac maintaining my current 3.75, by summer 2022 I should end up with a 2.9 cumulative, AMCAS sGPA of 3.49, and AACOMAS sGPA of 3.68. I understand the cGPA will weed me out of the 3.0 cut off for many schools. I'm also applying as a California resident which is a disadvantage.