Discharging patients from ED in middle of the night

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

1edyfirel

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a psych resident and cover the ED at a couple hospitals. We don't have a dedicated psychiatric ED, or even space for these patients in the ED. At Hospital One: psych and ED have a great relationship; we do not d/c psych patients from the ED in the middle of the night, as it's thought to not be a safe dispo (these are ppl w/SI contingent on housing or intoxicated but will clear by morning). Night team will s/o these patients to day attending and resident, and they will lay eyes, touch base w/SW, and then make final dispo. And often whatever crisis brought them in passes in light of day and patient can contract for safety.

At Hospital Two, the situation is much different. The ED attendings put a lot of pressure on the psych residents to dispo the psych pts ASAP and get them out. This means we *are* d/c'ing people in the middle of the night and then asking them to come back in the morning to speak to SW abt housing or some other psychosocial stressor. (Again, these are patients who aren't appropriate for inpatient psych and again SI contingent on housing or passive SI w/no plan in setting of psychosocial stressors SW can help with, but not until the morning). This feels like an unsafe dispo to me and many of my co-residents (especially in light of our experience at Hospital One): there's also no guarantee they will get some kind of housing/shelter in the morning. I won't go into specifics but I did have a bad outcome w/a pt I d/c'ed in the middle of night (staffed with attending, of course). In the morning he did not get housing, and then made a suicidal gesture.