Dilemma: no time for clinical experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

closertofine

Emerging from hibernation
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK, so I have this one year before I (hopefully) start med school. And I've gotten two jobs...first a part-time one teaching an MCAT course, and then a full-time one as a research assistant in a lab at my school. I've decided to do both because I think I'd be bored out of my mind just working in a lab all day, and I do want to teach the class...but the teaching job doesn't pay enough for me to survive on it alone.

But the problem is (well, besides the fact that I will be so busy, and I still have to write all the essays for secondaries!), that I have very little clinical experience. I was going to do a volunteer program at a hospital an hour or so away from me (just on the weekends, though), but once I got these two jobs, I knew I wouldn't have time...so I didn't even go to the orientation.

I know I "should" have gotten more clinical experience before this...and you might ask "well, how do you know you want to be a doctor?" but I've had some medical problems and haven't been able to do much outside of the things absolutely required of me at the time (like schoolwork). But now, I do really worry that med schools will ask that question, or say I don't have the experience I need to get in (though I know my grades and scores will help).