Difficulty of JHU Post-Bacc program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kovalev32

Reaction score
I am currently a 4th year student at Boston University majoring in Math & CS with a 3.3 GPA, I have taken almost none of the required med-school pre-reqs.

My question is in regards to the difficulty of the JHU Pre-Med program. From what I've read, the program is designed to weed out a lot of the students in it. Is the intensity over exaggerated and are the washouts mainly from students that haven't taken rigorous science classes before?

I have a job potenially set up after graduating and quite some student loan debt and I don't really want to take the risk of losing it if there's a big chance of being washed out of the JHU Post-Bacc program. However, after some analyzing of my character, I think I would be much happier being an MD rather than anything related to SWE. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Why does it have to be JHU? Do your SMP /post-bac somewhere else where grades are going to improve your app.

Reactions: 3 users
Start taking prereqs at BU during your senior year if your schedule allows it. See how those go before doing a post bac; it will help you make your decision.

If you are worried about loans and what not, it might be easier for you to try and do a DIY post bac on the side while working. Post bac and SMPs are rarely the most cost efficient way of doing things.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Start some premed courses next semester. Then continue with a career-changer post-bacc. Try to do it at non-name-brand universities.

my bf who comes from a science major background AND has taken all of his pre-rec AND the MCAT just finished a SMP program there (which i do understand is different from post-bacc) but it still kicked his ass.
It's manageable, he graduated with a 4.0, but he did NOTHING and i mean ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for the whole program except to study.