This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Premed3877

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I am actually thinking of applying to osteopathic medical school in the next few months and wanted to know your opinion and ask for advice.

I graduated from luc with a bs in biology with a concentration in molecular biology. I graduated in 2015 with a 3.0 cumulative and science gpa. Through those years I mostly had a lot of B's. I did have to retake organic chemistry II about 3 times.

The following year, I retook all of my classes that had a c or lower in them at 3 different community colleges in a single semester.

This year I completed a biomedical science masters at kcu and will end up with a gpa of 3.3. I feel as with a gpa this low I may not have a chance at medical school any longer. I wanted your opinion as to if i should take the chance and apply or is there there something else that i can do to raise my gpa?

As for my extracurricular activites, I have been involved in multiple cultural organizations since I was in high school. They include :

• 1 nonprofit that raises money for a home for the destitutes in northern India [ i helped raised money, plan events, and performed]
  • a group that looks to spread awareness of my culture [ performer and later dance coordinator]
  • a religious Sunday school [ teacher assitant]
  • a religious camp [ initially as a camper, but now a teacher]
  • member of my temple
  • dermatology club [ this year]
  • volunteered at a hospital in various depts [ over 300 hours]
  • optician [1 year]
  • ophthalmolic technition [ few months, until i moved to missouri]
  • volunteered at retirement community [ over 100 hours]
  • shadowed 3 doctors [ over 200 hours] and still shadowing
  • aided in mission to Haiti [ie. Prepared everything the Dr. needed for her trip, gathered supplies, organized and packed all materials]
Have great letters of rec, all from kcu