Did I overkill by applying to 38 DO schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOstudent20

Reaction score
Hello,

So I just discovered SDN recently and kind of panicked when submitting my primaries. I am looking for some assurance that my panicking would be worth it or not.

I am a Texas Resident and applied to 38 DO schools, not knowing if I would be able to get in or not. I really like the DO approach because it aligns well with Public Health values, which was my major during undergrad, and want to do a DO/MPH if possible. I did qualify for the AACOMAS fee waiver that help cut the cost of both primary and secondaries.

I have over 800 hours working at a clinic for an MD, 700 hours as a pharmacy tech, over 200 hours volunteering at a hospital, 800 non-healthcare volunteer hours, and 500 research hours. I pretty much worked throughout all of undergrad.

My MCAT was 500 (C/P: 127, C: 123, B: 125, P/S: 125), cGPA: 3.6, csGPA: 3.5. I did not have any DO shadowing experience due to COVID, but do have MD shadowing. I wanted to know, from previous applicants, how important is that DO expereince and if applying to 38 school was a bad idea?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You probably didn't need to apply to basically all of them, but can't hurt (except your wallet, which I can hear crying all the way in Fort Worth from wherever you are).

Reactions: 2 users
You probably didn't need to apply to basically all of them, but can't hurt (except your wallet, which I can hear crying all the way in Fort Worth from wherever you are).
Haha I live in Plano, TX so you will be hearing the crying loud and clear!

Members don't see this ad :)
Applying to that many schools isn’t actually that bad. It’s the secondaries that will kill you. I’m pretty sure you applied to enough where you’ll have to choose between writing the secondary or flat out skipping them in bunches.

Reactions: 1 user