desperately need your advice!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jessie

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i was reading up on all the negatives of RCSI and that really worries me. i was planning to apply to their new four year program that starts this september, but in order to do that i have to write the April MCAT which I have not yet studied for. But my overall gpa is really low, about 68 percent (2.4 gpa), and for this new program RCSI is only asking for a 2.2. So this school would be pretty much the only one who would take me. I'm only in my third year, so I can wait until november to apply to all the ireland schools but i'm afraid no one will take me. by the time the applications are due, in november, my gpa will only be about 70% so that's a 2.7 and if i write the august mcat my score will be about 33 (based on a practice test that i did). but if i write the april mcat i'm sure it will only be in the twenty range because its during exam time and i haven't studied for it yet. so i really don't what to do. i'm so stressed out. the reason why my gpa is so poor is not because i'm stupid but because of some personal issues i had to deal with which are now all over but my gpa is completely murdered.

Should I write the April MCAT and apply to the four year RCSI for this september? Even though I have five exams before the MCAT and I haven't studied for the MCAT at all yet? I guess it would be possible if i study insanely hard for the next two months with no social life or work.