Desperate need of advice -

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fancy312

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I please let me give you a background on this as I go into a rant on my behalf.
-I graduated in December of 2014 with a bachelors degree in biology, minor in psych, I did neuroscience research with my professor for 2 years, predental member/shadowed/volunteered and ultimately finished with a 3.2 GPA
-I applied to my in state schools Masters programs, TWICE but got wait listed, and ultimately didn't get in, including this year
-I have been a dental assistant for about a year and a half now, and it narrowed it down that I still do want to do this
-I took the DAT twice, with the first time being so awful that I know I had to retake, and unfortunately still did bad with a 17 AA ( did improve on all subjects based on my first attempt)
- I recently applied to Rutgers MBS Dental scholar program, and got in.

******* now I'm wondering, should I retake the DAT AFTER completing the Masters at Rutgers?
*OR*
******* Do I do iprepdental's 8 week course now, and retake it a third time now before starting the program, and hopefully do well,, and apply to pretty much every dental school in July when the course is done

I know that if I f*** up this third time that I will ultimately have to ask permission from the ADA to take it a 4th time, i just don't know what I should do, any advice would be greatly appreciated, and I thank anyone thats taking their time to read this and help me, thanks again everyone

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know that anyone can help you make this decision. If you are going to retake, I suggest making that your "job" if at all possible. I haven't heard any feedback on that course, but I highly recommend self-study using resources like DAT Bootcamp and DAT Destroyer. Best of luck to you.

Reactions: 1 user