Desperate for help on the DAT Biology section. Which is a more efficient way of studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

simbalion92

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not one that studies well by just reading. I find that I learn better by just doing questions. Should I just skip reviewing for biology and use DAT Destroyer as more of a study tool and make flashcards for all DAT Destroyer biology questions and just study them everyday leading up the exam?

Would anyone recommend this?

Members don't see this ad.

Rereading sections multiple times in short periods of times is how I studied for the DAT and how I study for all my bio courses. What I did for DAT was: read chapter of cliffs, move onto a different subject (i.e. ochem, or something else), come back to feralis notes and read the corresponding chapter. Next day repeat, I did this until I instinctively skimmed lines because I already knew what they were. Then I moved on to the next chapter. I always reread previous chapters every few days. Focusing on subjects I was less familiar with.

Have you tried making questions on flashcards based on the reading? I think Destroyer is a good way to learn, although there are some more basic material in the notes that you may not learn from Destroyer. It has a lot of detailed questions and the bio sections is more breadth over depth.

Start doing destroyer and bootcamp exams. Read the explanations for all questions and if something doesn't make sense review the notes. You'll learn more this as opposed to constant reading because you learn from your mistakes. Do this assuming you have a decent background, obviously you need to do some reading before doing questions to build the knowledge base.