Desire to match Heme/ Onc! Possible?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jack-Kennedy35

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I’m a recent graduate of UCLA and am applying DO this cycle. I’m from California and would like to practice here as well. What DO schools would you recommend I apply to/ would give me the best chance if I have my sight set on Heme/ Onc?

I have a 3.83 gpa and have shadowed a DO but only have a 508 MCAT. I realize MD is out of the question but I just badly want to match Heme/ Onc. It’s been a lifelong goal of mine due to family experiences.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Do well in school, do research and do well on step 2 and pass step 1, match at a decent university IM program or community program with in-house fellowship and heme onc will be very doable. No one DO school is superior in terms of matching heme/onc so go to the cheapest one that isn't a new school.

Reactions: 1 users
MSU is affiliated with Ascension Providence as well as Ascension Genesys. Both sites have an IM and Heme/Onc fellowship in house. NOVA has multiple affiliated residency programs with Larkin and uses the hospital as a core site. Larkin has a IM program as well as Heme/Onc in house. Both were previous AOA programs that transitioned. I'd focus on those two if you're dead set on Heme/Onc but both also happen to be fine programs on their own.

I'd try for MD with a 3.8/508 though. Just apply broadly. It'll be easier returning to Cali from out of state as a MD than a DO.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hey guys,

I’m a recent graduate of UCLA and am applying DO this cycle. I’m from California and would like to practice here as well. What DO schools would you recommend I apply to/ would give me the best chance if I have my sight set on Heme/ Onc?