Des Moines University vs. Chicago COM at Midwestern University

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted866049

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Honestly, both are great schools and I don't think you can go wrong with either one. If tuition wasn't a factor, I would probably go with CCOM. I'm under the impression that CCOM's rotation sites >> DMU's rotation sites. However... because $20k per year is a significant difference, and once you throw interest into the mix... I would refrain from CCOM and pick DMU (assuming you are ok living away from the SO).

Reactions: 1 users
I graduated from CCOM in 2009. They had a few labs on campus. I think those were the only research opportunities. We had somewhat reliable rotations at St. James Olympia Fields and Swedish Covenant hospital. Still had to compete a bit for rotation spots among students. More of an outsider at Stroger Cook county hospital. It's not worth $80,000 more total. I paid about $50,000 a year back then and that was too high for me. This is a bit before the new schools and bigger class sizes. Similar match outcomes at the time. If you are convinced you will do a residency at St. James Olympia Fields or Swedish Covenant hospital, then maybe choose CCOM. Dude, go to DMU.

Honestly, both are great schools and I don't think you can go wrong with either one. If tuition wasn't a factor, I would probably go with CCOM. I'm under the impression that CCOM's rotation sites >> DMU's rotation sites. However... because $20k per year is a significant difference, and once you throw interest into the mix... I would refrain from CCOM and pick DMU (assuming you are ok living away from the SO).