Dermatology residency interview questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PLEVA

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I haven’t been on these boards since my interviewing days. I graduated from one of the most toxic derm programs in the country on July 1. Life is so much better now that I’m done and passed the boards. I wish I had asked a few things when I was interviewing so that I could have matched into a kinder program…

I’ve compiled a list of questions that ALL of you should be asking so you can end up in good derm residency programs. During interviews, residents and faculty get so bored by the same unimportant questions that these ones will actually be a breath of fresh air. These are the questions that really matter to you on a day by day basis as a resident.

Remember that during recruitment time, all programs put on a happy face so that they can recruit you. They want to match all their spots with good candidates so read into body language as well and ask followup questions.

Questions for current RESIDENTS
-Do you feel like the faculty are supportive of resident life?
Remember life events occur for EVERYONE in residency (weddings, births, deaths, accidents) so this is an important one. Do residents feel like their program understands these realities and is supportive? This is key. One way to gauge this is to ask this question of residents with children.

-Do you feel valued by the faculty? Is your input as a resident valued? This is a biggie. Ask all the residents this question…you’d be surprised by the answers.