Derm residency as foreign

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

elima

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am in my last year (last month) of med school in Mexico (ranked no. 1), coming to the US to do my residency was always on my dreams, this year I had my electives in derm and I realize I totally love it, and I cannot longer imagine myself in some other field, but I know there is only 3% of places for people that study out of the US: that makes my goal almost impossible. I don't want to give up. Is there any suggestion, is it worth the effort? I am not in a hurry and if I have to spend one year, or even do an entire research fellowship I will.
thank you!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am in my last year (last month) of med school in Mexico (ranked no. 1), coming to the US to do my residency was always on my dreams, this year I had my electives in derm and I realize I totally love it, and I cannot longer imagine myself in some other field, but I know there is only 3% of places for people that study out of the US: that makes my goal almost impossible. I don't want to give up. Is there any suggestion, is it worth the effort? I am not in a hurry and if I have to spend one year, or even do an entire research fellowship I will.
thank you!!!!
Its very unlikely no matter what you do.You will be competing against many top applicants doing the same thing for few openings.
The IMGs who get into derm ..about 3-5 a year tend to have some combination of great research credentials,previous extensive derm training in thier home county,and connections.
If you feel you are still interested then doing a research fellowship at some programs for 1-2 years could work.If you get along with everyone, and perform at a high level.
Still its risky.If Derm is a must then stay in your home county or accept another specialty to train in the US.