Derm moonlighting pay

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zinger89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a pgy 3 derm resident and I have a moonlighting opportunity, but I’m not sure what to ask for pay. None of the previous residents here wanted to moonlight so I have no idea what the average is. I assume taking a percentage of collections would be the way to go but idk. I’ve heard attendings usually get 40-45% of collections so would a resident get 30-35%? Any advice would be great, thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I’m a pgy 3 derm resident and I have a moonlighting opportunity, but I’m not sure what to ask for pay. None of the previous residents here wanted to moonlight so I have no idea what the average is. I assume taking a percentage of collections would be the way to go but idk. I’ve heard attendings usually get 40-45% of collections so would a resident get 30-35%? Any advice would be great, thanks.

I don’t have a good answer but am curious (also derm resident but pgy-2 so asking for the future) what type experience is it? Is it derm related?

I don’t have a good answer but am curious (also derm resident but pgy-2 so asking for the future) what type experience is it? Is it derm related?
Yes it’s with a derm attending. (Out of his office)

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
My moonlighting was a sweet deal, no attending, 40%, crazy looking back on it

Reactions: 1 user
I think our moonlighting in residency paid about $100/patient (less after taxes obviously).

That’s the best I’ve ever heard. You’d be doing well to make that as an attending.

30 pt day is 3k? 50k a month for 4 day workweek? I’m gonna quit my job and go back to moonlighting.

Reactions: 3 users
I got about $200/hr for derm moonlighting shifts as a resident

That’s the best I’ve ever heard. You’d be doing well to make that as an attending.