Derm After Peds?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ozzie20

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a DO student interested in pediatrics, but i also have an interest in Derm.

To be honest, my step 1 scores arent super amazing top 99.99999 percent (haven't taken step 2), but i'm a member of the osteopathic honors society, and have some other extra-curricular activities that make me a good candidate like clinical work before medical school. I know that derm is ultra difficult to get into, and to be honest after reading how just about every specialty is competitive, i'm thinking with my sub 90th %tile scores, i'm shut out of just about every specialty except for FP, IM, and Peds (which i do love incidentally)

My question is, is it hard to get into a derm residency after completing a peds residency, or are there programs that offer derm fellowships after pediatrics?

Should i consider even trying to get into an osteopathic derm residency?

Members don't see this ad.

Almost 100 people viewed and no one has any advice? please?

I have a friend who had a friend who did derm after a peds residency. I think it's possible, but read somewhere that it may be hardier to get funding for a person already trained in another residency.

Since graduating med school and starting my derm residency I have convinced a close friend of mine to finish his peds residency and continue on into a derm residency with the ultimate goal of becoming a fellowship-trained pediatric dermatologist.

There is a need for pediatric dermatologists out there. It normally is a 2-year fellowship after derm but by completing a peds residency before derm residency, the fellowship is often shaved down by 6mo to a year. The difficulty getting into derm after peds is that the ACGME only funds residents for 5 years of postgrad training then the program must foot the bill thereafter. In essence, they would be paying for your last year.