Depressed med student switch to PA school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sadmed

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

Sooo. I should be an M3 right now at a US MD school. But I'm a student who finished the first semester of school, took a year of leave for depression, came back and finished the second semester, and then started M2 and took another leave for severe depression after a classmate OD'd.

By severe, I mean I've tried everything, including shocking my brain in various ways. I never had depression of this severity before med school. My family doesn't know I'm on leave again. : (

All throughout, I've been barely passing. (And had to remediate Immuno through an exam). I haven't had much support from my school's admin. I had requested decelerating the M2 curriculum instead of taking leave, but they denied that.

So basically I've finished 1 year of med school in the equivalent of 3 years. My loan burden with undergrad is $130k.

I still have a spot in school, and have been studying in advance for M2 year, but just looking at this material, I have a strong sense that I'm going to fail M2. Several students from the year above are retaking the entire year. I also fear I'm risking my life with this depression.

I really want to leave med school and do PA school. I have no doubt I could do well. I also feel a huge burden lifted when I consider this possibility. I think the depression is hugely situational and related to med school itself. Why would PA school be any better? I can think of a million reasons.

My father was a physician who OD'd accidentally when I was young. I don't want to end up on the same path. I don't regret giving med school a good shot... I just don't want it to take my life. I don't value the prestige of the MD more than I value my life. I want to be happy again.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user