dental students-NHSC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wise146

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering if anybody on this forum is a dental student currently on the NHSC scholarship. What are your thoughts about the scholarship and interview process?? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

To add to wise's questions, I am wondering what the actual selection criteria is for the NHSC and what the interview process is actually like?

I am a dental student on NHSC scholarship. The interview was pretty laid back. If you are lucky you can interview in your hometown, otherwise it shouldn't be too awfully far away. There are 2 interviewers and they have a list of questions that they ask you. From what I remember none of them really were difficult. They ask why you want to be a dentist, where you will be going to school, to describe yourself and give a brief history. I think they also asked about leadership skills, strengths and weaknesses, why you want to be a part of the program. They will also stress to you that you have to be flexible in where you want to practice and other requirements of the scholarship. They give you a lot of time to ask questions and they give you a cd that talks about the program and some other information. I wish I could be more helpful but it seems like ages ago that I went to my interview even though it was only a year ago. Feel free to ask me more questions, it might jog my memory.