This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NolesFan1996

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all! I'm currently going through a difficult time deciding what I want to be when I grow up.

I am a fourth year Biology student at FSU and will be graduating during the Fall 2018 semester. I am seriously unsure of what route to take with my future degree at this point. For the longest time I considered myself a Pre-Dental student, then switched to being Pre-PA because the thought of 4 more years of college and even more student debt terrified me. The main problem is, however, I never accumulated any clinical hours during the last three years, so my chances of getting into a PA program would be slim, even if I were to accumulate the minimum amount of hours required this year. So, after a lot of thought, I am going to apply to the local community college's Dental Hygienist program and hopefully get my A.S. for that within two years.

After working a couple of years as a dental hygienist, depending how much I like working in the dental field, I may apply to either a Physician's Assistant program (will have accumulated enough clinical hours by then) or a DDS/DMD program. My main question is, would working as a dental hygienist for a couple of years increase my chances of getting into a DDS/DMD program?