This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mention medical school goals?

• Yes mention

Votes: 8 72.7%
  • No do not mention

Votes: 3 27.3%

• Total voters

RapidEyeMovementLearning

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
[deleted]

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think you should say MD only. But I do think you need to make it clear that you want to explore research as well.

I am scheduled to interview soon for a "clinical research coordinator job" at a big name University which has a large medical school and teaching campus. I have very little research experience but good clinical work, so I am surprised they interviewed me but I'm very thankful. When they ask what my future goals are, should I state that I am interested in the medical field and applying for an MD or MD/PHD down the road? I thought this would be an acceptable answer because I don't want to deceive them, and I think it shows passion for learning and knowledge. Does anyone have experience in this scenario?

The interview will be with a panel of 5 clinical research managers, not the PI or any physicians.
For how long are they hiring you? Are you the coordinator for a particular project and will be done afterwards, or are you looking into getting hired long-term?

I would be honest with your aspirations, and make sure you let them know when you plan on applying (if you know). If they’re trying to hire someone long-term... well you wouldn’t be a good fit.

Members don't see this ad :)
Personally, I would lie. Then again maybe academia is ok with it. Know the lab I am in knows most of the recent grads are going to be applying to grad or medical school soon.

I wouldn't and would probably offer some vague reply of "I eventually see myself going back to school but I just graduated so I'm looking to establish myself as an adult first".