[deleted]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

notyouraverageapplicant

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
This belongs in WAMC. Your ECs look good. Your MCAT is good. Apply broadly and wisely. I'm not an expert on which schools you should pick, I will leave that to other SDNers to help you with.

Your stats and ECs seem pretty strong.
I guess the adcoms might have concerns about your GPA if it's not an upward trend, but I think you'd be as strong an applicant as any.
Does your cGPA account for the original letter grade received for the retakes? If not AMCAS takes both grades and averages them so make sure you include that in the calculation.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
All the classes I had retaken were from freshmen year and first semester of sophomore year. Ever since then I have only received A's in all my classes. And yes my gpa was calculated based on the AMCAS scale. If I only account for retaken courses my GPA is about a 3.8.

What schools should I look in to?
Did you get F's or D's in the classes you retook, or did you actually withdraw from them and get W's?

Embarrassing enough, yes I got D's in all of them (D+ in the math one) except for a C+ in the econ class.
Ah okay. I was thinking if you got the W's, then the 3.8 GPA would actually count as your AMCAS, but since they were D's you are stuck with the 3.5. I still say that you have a good chance at med schools

I used the spreadsheet at the link below to choose my schools, complemented by MSAR and US News.
http://is.gd/sdn_med_matriculant_data

I think the spreadsheet hasn't been updated in the recent months, but the figures seemed relatively constant when I compared them to current data (at least the schools I was interested in).

Two criteria (other than MCAT and GPA of course) I used was class size and OOS percentage.