Define Scutwork

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Electrophile

Working Dog Doc
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So you guys in clinical rotations...define scutwork.

Members don't see this ad.

I will answer that this time next year if I pass this year...

One of the vet clinics I work at uses clinical extramural students to do kennel hand work... im never doing prac there!

Members don't see this ad :)
Scut is any work students or house officers don't want to do.

Eh, I think there's a little bit of a difference between busy work and scut work. Like busy work is excessive paperwork and the like. Scut work is taking the trash out and mopping floors.

I work as a tech in our SA ICU on the weekends. At our school,when a 4th-year student is "on" ICU they are responsible for nursing care and technician duties. (Personally, I think learning nursing care is one of the most important things any soon-to-be-vet can learn.) Part of being an ICU tech-for-a-day is taking out the trash and cleaning the floor during your shift.

It makes my blood boil to hear students say things like, "isn't that a *technician's* job?" in a snide way when I ask them to help do something like, say, collect the trash. (And I'M actually helping THEM, technically speaking.)

Um, actually, cleaning up after yourself is everyone's job. Also sick of students leaving messes for others to clean up.

You're probably referring to something different, of course. I don't know how it works at your school--I suspect each is different (I've heard of one vet school who doesn't expect their students to clean and kind of babies them in other ways).

YMMV, of course. :)

Last edited: