Define "eczema"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CornellDerm

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
can anyone define eczema?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I swear, I am answering based on my own experience and i did not look up what eczema exactly is on wikipedia or whatever.

Its like, this skin condition where a red rash appears due to irritation or dryness on your skin. It looks different on a lot of people and is treated using steroids or hydrocortisone cream. Lotion can also help calm it.

are you a resident derm? If you are you should know this, I hope that this is like.. a survey or something to see "if" we know it correctly.

i am a pathology resident and future dermatopathologist. i am aware of the current definitions of eczema in all the major dermatology texts. i am in no way quizzing the dermatologists.

nonetheless, i find the concept of eczema somewhat elusive (a waste basket diagnosis, if you will). i am just wondering if any gifted dermatologist out there can conceptualize or define eczema in a more meaningful way.

there have been articles published by one very famous (and controversial) dermatologist/dermatopathologist (such as in 1994) recommending that the term "eczema" be abandoned. He and I are currently re-evaluating "eczema" circa 2007 to see if anything has changed.

Thanks for your response.

Members don't see this ad :)