Declining reimbursements

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jmail

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I have been a pharmacist for about 8 years and hate it.
Thinking of going into a med school and getting into family practice field.
What worries me, is that there is such a decline in reimbursements by Medicare that on many drugs we lose money.
You would think it would be the case with medicine in general, right?
What do you guys see in your practice? I am interested in monetary implications.
I would not want to spend all these money on med school and then earn 30K per year...
( I am exaggerating of course, but if you could give me some examples of your/your colleagues incomes before and after all the Medicare changes, I would greatly appreciate it!)

I guess, its not your income that I am trying to ask, the question is more: would you say Medicare/other insurances reimbursement for the same service increased or decreased over the last few years? For example, lets say you billed for physical an X amount of money in 2001 and you bill the same amount in 2020, do insurances pay the same percentage of the billed amount, or more, or less?
Lets say you billed 200$ in 2001 for yearly physical, insurance paid, lets say, 80% so you got 160 dollars.
How does this number look in 2020 (or 2019)?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Our reimbursement has nothing whatsoever to do with drug prices, so your "Medicare changes" question doesn't resonate. My income has steadily increased over the years. We're getting into more ACO/P4P-type contracts these days. Know the rules, play the game.

Our reimbursement has nothing whatsoever to do with drug prices, so your "Medicare changes" question doesn't resonate. My income has steadily increased over the years. We're getting into more ACO/P4P-type contracts these days. Know the rules, play the game.