Day in the life of a PM&R resident?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

liger

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a 3rd year med student trying to figure out what to do with my life. I just had a baby and am looking to do one of the shorter & easier residency programs but still do something that I like. I would like to work part-time and do something with kids with developmental problems & helping them to improve the quality of their lives. I am more interested in helping people who already have a diagnosis (vs. making the diagnosis). I have been thinking peds all the way but someone suggested I look into PM&R. I was wondering if you can work part-time doing PM&R and what the residency is like. It is a year longer than peds which is a bit of a worry but I heard that the hours are more reasonable so I could spend time with my child. I don't think I would have time to do a fellowship since I am already on the older side & want to be a mom first & foremost. Can you still work with kids without doing a pediatric fellowship? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I commend your interest in physiatry, but I lament your personal reasons for considering the field: Desiring part-time work, desiring a shorter/easier residency, desiring to work with patients who are already diagnosed instead of making the diagnosis.

In short, your interests and aims can be well-accomodated in PM&R. I'm just not sure that field itself can thrive and advance if it continues to attract the "ambivalently attached" to its ranks. You would never see this kind of question from a prospective neurosurgeon, orthopod, etc.